Blockhouse Bay ‘Auckland Club of the Year’

At the Auckland Bowls Annual Awards last weekend, Blockhouse Bay received the award for ‘Auckland Club of the Year’.  The running of a successful Trust’s NZ Open will have been a contributing factor to receiving this award.  The NZ Open alone requires several months of planning and a very special group of forty five volunteers that assisted in running the event.  Members can feel justifiably proud of their contribution to making the Club a popular venue for visiting players.

A further special award was presented to Diana Smith as ‘Auckland Coach of the Year’.  Diana is a club coach and coach/selector of the Auckland Women’s 1-8 Representative team.  This team won several Intercentre fixtures and was a finalist in the New Zealand Intercentre playoffs.

The Women’s National Interclub Division 2 team featured in the presentations as the Auckland Region winner, Rebecca Jelley winning the Auckland Women’s Singles, and Glenn Rich & Warwick Frederikson the Auckland Men’s Pairs Champion of Champion trophy.

Close Menu